• Lime Social Club
  • Posts
  • Whoa, we doubled in size! & Using strava as an investment strategy.

Whoa, we doubled in size! & Using strava as an investment strategy.

Lime Social Club is like the best networking party you've ever been too, and its never ending.

Hey Cool Cats & Kittens,

(I actually never watched Tiger King, but I enjoy this greeting).

There are a TON of new people here from the last 6 weeks. So let me reintroduce this newsletter & Lime Social Club.

Lime Social Club is a community that brings together like-minded individuals and exposes you to new products, places, activities & people.

We currently are in NYC with weekly events and our Boston club hosts monthly events.

Events are… never-ending.

We do tons of things and are always open to new ideas!

In the past 6 months, we have hosted: dinner parties, workout classes, comedy shows, concerts, panels… we even once threw a panini party (aka I whipped up 13 paninis and ~10 of us got together to mingle… that was when this newsletter was only 50 people though.)

This is honestly some of the most innocent and welcoming fun I have had in New York City, and I’ve met some pretty DOPE people because of it.

This newsletter is our main communication tool.

We exclusively have all RSVP links to free events here. You will see promos on Instagram, but all links will come through here on Wednesday mornings at 10 am.

Format-wise, events are listed below by category, and if you are hosting an event, or know of something happening that you believe should be included here - LMK!

I also add in some of my thoughts each week. I love hearing about new weird ways people are making millions & creating products. I’m an entrepreneur by trade… this is my Roman Empire.

For more on me: I wrote a post on Monday here you can read if you so choose.

Anyways, Happy hump day! See y’all on the flip side.

xx

Caite

A Week In Review:

Lime Social Club Boston: Everybody Fights Inaugural Community Class was a great success! Class sold out in 32 minutes & had quite the attendance. Slate Milk and Culture Pop sponsored the event with some product goodies too.

Sublime Comedy NYC: Last Friday we hosted our second comedy club. It was PHENOM. My Cheeks are still sore from laughing. Go peep insta for updates & to see our lineup.

As always, thank you to Room 52 for hosting us!

Up Next:

No Run club this weekend in NYC/ BOS.

It’s a weekend off after a few crazy ones.

We will be announcing some November and December partnerships next week!

Lastly, if you know of any art gallery owners or arts/culture or health and wellness writers, let me know — I’m on the lookout for them!

Is it insider trading if you track their Strava?

I was listening to my favorite podcast, this episode exactly. On it, Shaan and Ishan dive into some of their more peculiar investments.

We all Know Strava here? Right? It’s the app on your phone where you can record your runs - 80% of us on this email use it.

Anyways - to cut to the chase, Ishan at the time was invested in Afterpay, during the Affirm heyday. He was sure Afterpay would come out on top as the better “buy-now, pay-later” product. But to be sure: He followed Afterpay’s CEO on strava and realized he was spending a lot of time running around the headquarters of Square.

Ishan guessed there was a partnership being developed. To his lovely surprise, within a few months, Square bought Afterpay. Ishan made a ton of money - and Afterpay is the front-runner after all.

I love this. It’s hilarious to me how people guess stock trajectory…

Have your friends sent you free cash on Flip yet? I figured out how it works.

My friend sent me $75 the other day. It was through this app called Flip.

To claim the money, all I had to do was download the app and then hit “redeem”. I bought 4 products, all legitimate brands I use, and was already sent tracking.

The app looks like TikTok, but every. single. video. is a product review from a customer (UGC).

This seems so sus. But, it’s not. I dove into the logistics with some friends.

Apps work in a few ways, you can sell ads on them, you can make money but amount of downloads in a specific amount of time, or you can sell things and take a cut of the sale.

Well flip does all these things.

The app was created to be an online commerce platform but functions similarly to TikTok to encourage social interaction. At the beginning of 2022, Flip had 100s of brands onboarded and over 1 million users. Which is great, but they charge brands like Ads, and then (I hypothesize) take a cut of all sales.

Giving away free cash to onboard new users increases the potential ad price for oncoming brands and also creates a new cohort of potential buyers.

I mean, heck! I bought $80 of things within an HOUR of having the app.

So yeah, free cash may be suspicious, but it’s just to get you to download the app. It’s the hardest part of the game.

If you want to read more, here is an article from Forbes & another from Verb. I actually may be obsessed with the founder’s thought process.

  • I love baking in the fall, something so comforting. I used to live with my cousin, Emily (hey em!) & she introduced me to these pumpkin bars. I’ve made them 3 times in the last 2 weeks.

  • A mentor of mine told me to read this book: Only Love is Real By Brian Weiss. I am halfway through and wow. I have read Brian Weiss before (You NEED to read Many Minds, Many Masters), he has such an eloquent way of grounding you without completely humbling you into despair. I am still hopeful in life, but not unrealistic. Brain Weiss is a research psychologist who helped popularize hypnosis. He also leads research in determining our past lives and how they show up in our current lifetime. He’s awesome.

  • I saw one of my favorite creators post this, so I am sharing:

Lime Social Club Events:

  • ‘tis a chill week: Enjoy the peace and quiet while you can!

Other Cool-But-Not-LSC events

  • 11/11 at 11PM: Comedy Late Night: Comedy Late Night is your new favorite tipsy late-night bit show! Originally at Penn State, this show is the “Avengers assemble” of NY’s comedy world, featuring music, improv, characters, sketches, and any half-baked intrusive thought performers have cooked up. Win free shots and prizes by participating in audience bits and enter our raffle for free edibles and shots by RSVPing!

    • RSVP here and you will automatically be entered to win shots/ edibles!

“‘Gotta Blast’- Jimmy Neutron” -Caite