• Lime Social Club
  • Posts
  • What do Mustaches have to do with community? | Holiday Party & Upcoming Classes

What do Mustaches have to do with community? | Holiday Party & Upcoming Classes

Normally I do a spiel up here, but guys. So many events in the next 4 weeks. Holiday Party, more workouts, more art

Normally I do a spiel up here, but guys.

So many events in the next 4 weeks. Holiday Party, more workouts, more art.

I dive into why men grow facial hair in November (actually, kinda cute).

And I’m passing off some content from this week that I loved.

For some of my NYC folks - I’ll see you for coffee on Friday (look at Instagram for details), the rest of you… stay warm! It’s getting cold out!

xx

Caite

The Upcoming Must-Attend Events:

NYC:

Saturday, Dec 9, 7 pm - 10 pm: Charity Open Bar Holiday Party!!! All your favorite No/Low Alc Beverages and other Cocktails! Photos, Friends, festivities, a silent auction and more. $10 tickets - All proceeds go to Maria Fareri Children’s Hospital (where I was treated for Cancer 15 years ago!) Details and Ticketing to come next week! Get excited and clear your calendars :)

BOSTON:

Saturday, Dec 9, 2 pm: Barry’s Bootcamp in Back Bay is hosting a free community class for Lime Social Club! Details are HERE - Class registration will open next Wednesday at 10 am! (shout out to Marg for this connection!!)

The truth behind ‘No Shave November’ and ‘Movember’

I went into one of my client’s offices yesterday to find the head of sales with a mustache (Looks great K!).

Promptly reminding me it’s November.

K told the team he’s been doing this since college and how much he enjoys it. As he is speaking I can’t help but think: “Who is the creative genius marketer who started this annual trend and why?”

The two trends are actually not related.

The ‘No Shave November’ trend began long ago, but in 2008 a family in Chicago created a web-based non-profit to ride the coattails of this trend and turn it into something larger.

Now, each year the No Shave November Foundation encourages people to let their hair down and donate to their cancer research and donation fund.

So far this November they have raised $214,000, and over their lifetime they have contributed over $10M to cancer research! They even have a leaderboard… I think they need to post some beard photos though.

Movember is a similar movement.

It started back in 2003 with 30 guys in Australia… They have a cool story they detail out here. But some highlights:

  • They have helped fund 1,320 men’s health initiatives since 2003

  • They have raised over $559M during their lifetime.

  • They build their project using the community as their main form of outreach - they will help you raise money in your area, throw a get-together, and reach your goal for the greater good.

I am so happy I was curious about the roots of these movements - Moments like these really make me proud to be a human.

Like, what a fun way to raise money, awareness, and the feeling of ‘together’ all through a silly little mustache. I want to grow one now!!

Girls only!

A super cool and innovative friend of mine is launching a new business.

She needs your help!

She’s doing some background research and is looking to gather information from female community members.

The survey is about 125 seconds long (~2 mins).

Do me a favor - just fill this out real quick, please?

  • When I was in college I minored in Studio Art — I spent a ton of time in the painting studio and I always listened to philharmonics or orchestra music, my favorite radio to put on was The Piano Guys or Vitamin Stings Quartet. I found that it focused and relaxed me, but didn’t put me to sleep. Recently, it was brought to my attention that this is a real thing. Huberman Labs dives into how the right music can actually do that for you. Here’s the Pod if you want to listen yourself - crazy cool!

  • Just a note to my Swifties out there: GUYS! I can’t stop watching all the videos from Argentina… Like COME ON. Makes me love love again. And crazy how genuinely happy I am for people I don’t personally know. IYKYK.

  • Ellevest, a cool company I like, posted this cool quote from one of their Private Wealth Advisors… I’ll leave it below:

The cost of a coffee is far cheaper than the value of the learnings from the person you grab coffee with. Take the time to connect. Make introductions. Don’t expect anything immediate and linear, but know that this behavior increases the long-term opportunities that will be available to you.

Cameron Rogers, Ellevest | Private Wealth Advisor

Lime Social Club Events: (NYC)

  • Saturday, Nov 18, 2 pm: Barry’s Bootcamp in Noho is hosting a free community class for Lime Social Club! SOLD OUT (…in 67 seconds, still amazed.)

  • Early December we are hosting a speakeasy Vision Boarding Night - think wine, magazine pulls, a glue stick, and all your big intentions for 2024 wrapped up with some new friends by your side! … All in the coolest Venue. Details are to come next week, the date most likely is 12/6 in Gramercy.

  • Saturday, Dec 9, 10:30 am: MADabolic Williamsburg is hosting a free community class for Lime Social Club! Details are HERE - Class registration will open next Wednesday at 10 am!

  • Saturday, Dec 9, 11:30 am: MADabolic Williamsburg is hosting a free community class for Lime Social Club! Details are HERE - Class registration will open next Wednesday at 10 am!

     

  • Saturday, Dec 9, 7 pm - 10 pm: Charity Open Bar Holiday Party!!! All your favorite No/Low Alc Beverages and other Cocktails! Photos, Friends, festivities, a silent auction and more. $10 tickets - All proceeds go to Maria Fareri Children’s Hospital (where I was treated for Cancer 15 years ago!) Details and Ticketing to come next week! Get excited and clear your calendars :)

Lime Social Club Events: (BOS)

  • Saturday, Dec 9, 2 pm: Barry’s Bootcamp in Back Bay is hosting a free community class for Lime Social Club! Details are HERE - Class registration will open next Wednesday at 10 am! (shout out to Marg for this connection!!)

Other Cool-But-Not-LSC events

  • Saturday, Nov 18, 8:30 am: Kate Glavan x Hoka Run Club - details and RSVP Here.

  • Sunday, Nov 26, 6:00 pm: Heirloom Supper Club is at it again. A well-curated meal is being hosted at 87 Ludlow in NY. You can find details and tickets here - SOLD OUT!

“‘Gotta Blast’- Jimmy Neutron” -Caite