Recap: New York City Marathon

All 26.2 miles I felt like I was flying.

Yesterday, I ran the New York City Marathon.

With my best friend Dana.

In clothes, I designed and produced.

Reading “Lime Social Club”.


Thursday night before racing, a friend of mine was telling me about his experience the year prior. He was helping me strategize the route, gels, and water intake, but ended the conversation with something along the lines of:

“This is the one time in New York City, where instead of feeling alone, you feel like every single person there is cheering for you.

For the reason you decided to do this.

They don't know you, your background, who you are but they are genuinely so happy for you and proud of you.”


He was right.

All 26.2 miles I felt like I was flying.

It was one of those experiences where hours went by, but it felt like seconds.

Strangers called out to us, yelled our names, high-fived us.

Brooklyn was a whole party, I have never been told to slow down my pace more times than those 2 miles, I couldn't help but feed off the energy of the crowd.

It was an experience I wish I could convince you all to take on.


I expected to cry more during the race.

Mainly because, normally when I race, I get this overwhelming feeling when that first horn goes off.

Like an “I can’t believe I get to do this, I can do this and I am here now, freaking doing it.”

But, I was always in races to GET to the marathon. It was emotions for how prideful I was about the process. I was, and am, proud of my commitment and determination to get to yesterday.


But I exchanged tears for hugs and fist pumps this race.

My family was on the sidelines with big heads of me, my friends printed out photos of my dog and I was running alongside my best friend since age 5.

Community is more than just who you hang out with.

It’s the people who will HELP you get to the finish line, even if they aren't going through that process themselves.

They are here to cheer you on to finish your commitments.

Yesterday is the perfect example of the impact the community has on me. How easy it felt to run 26.2 miles because of those interactions with my team on the sidelines, and because of those who pushed me for the last 18 weeks.

It’s the perfect example of enjoying the process and finishing what you set out to do.

And having a community to support you through it.

I intrinsically want to build, create, and “do”.

But wearing my own gear, repping my own club, and running this race has built a new trust in myself that I won't take for granted.

And I mean it wholeheartedly, all of these things are not possible without each person who has helped build me.

I love New York. I love my team.

And wow, I loved running the New York City Marathon.